Getting Serious

Okay, okay, now it’s too prescient and amusing to go ahead and commit.

I was sitting here trying to decide if I wanted to write about planning ahead and scheduling my posts. I used to. I was almost always writing tomorrows post today, because it’s an easy way to stay on top of things. It takes the immediate anxiety of “I have to do this right now” and makes it a more relaxing “I should do this when I’ve got a moment.” I haven’t been doing that, though. I’ve been writing and then publishing as soon as I’m done. Functional, but starting to feel like a chore due to the hard deadline.

Then, I saw something that Naithin totally didn’t write, had a good laugh, and figured I may as well go all in.

Quite frankly, part of my problem is finding topics to write about. I’ve not been doing a lot of gaming this week. Mostly just handling details and preparation for my trip, talking to those close to me, with a little bit of reading or anime slid into the cracks.

I don’t know if I wrote about it at all, but a while back I began a complete re-read of Pratchett’s discworld novels. I’ve always loved the series, but I felt like there were large sections of the series I don’t recall well and the parts I had gone back through really hit different now. Who I am and how I process, store, and recall information has change enough that different details stand out.

I also shouldn’t be surprised, what with there being 41 novels and all, but I have absolutely no memory of reading some of them, or recall only small side plots and not the major arc. I’ve also discovered some places where I feel the series fell a little flat. It wasn’t bad, it was just a bit of a slog to get through. There were a few books that just felt like they went on a lot longer than they needed to. Perhaps a contributing factor in why I don’t remember them.

I’ve also found my desire to try and write some fiction stirring somewhat. On the surface, it’s related to a tabletop campaign my partner wants to run. I feel like I’m past the point of a simple character concept and paragraph backstory with this one, though. I want to write something more.

The number one thing holding me back is just my general reluctance to pick that back up. I want to write it, and I want to share it, but every time I go to start I remember every other instance I’ve done this and hesitate. I know I should, and that I need to, and I can hear the words of my friends echoing and telling me I’m not going to be happy ignoring it.

Not that I could anyway. I would rather come to her game with the worst written backstory on the planet than wing it with some half-baked idea that isn’t fleshed out enough for me to feel it.

Ah, anyway. It seems that I’ve managed to find a post in here somewhere, I see something I need to be working on. And if I’m gonna try to write ahead then I need to wrap this up so I have time to reset and go again.

Y’all take care. Don’t work too hard!


Hey, it’s Blaugust time! The goal is to simply promote and stimulate the blogging community by encouraging people of all skill levels and backgrounds to post. The official post can be found here and it’s never too late to start.

3 thoughts on “Getting Serious

  1. WordPress said you linked to something of mine, but it just goes to a seemingly blank page with no words at all.

    Weird. 😉

    More seriously, glad was able to give you a laugh!

    I’m sure this won’t come as revelationary, but I’m going to say it anyway: Write about the other things if that’s what you got!

    I for one would be interested to hear your takes on the Discworld series. I don’t believe I’ve ever read through it in it’s entirely. From what I recall, I really quite enjoyed the first book or two (or three?) and then found it fading for me from there. But it has been such a great long time since given it a go, who’s to say if I’m remembering it accurately or fairly.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve read a lot – maybe most – of the Discworld books more than once, mostly because they’re easy to read and I have a lot of them, so I tend to grab one to be going on with while I think of something else to read. I would like to re-read them all in order just to see the character growth, which is slow but consistent. A lot of the later ones, though, are pretty flat and labored. I’m not sure I’d want to go through those again.

    Also @Naithin – WP gives you an alert when someone links you?! That’s literally the first thing anyone’s ever said about WP that makes me think it might actually have something I’d use that Blogger doesn’t!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment