The Title of My First Post: Everything must have a Beginning

I suspect I’m going to make something of a liar out of myself here. While dealing with all this strange mental health stuff that’s well outside the scope of this blog, I’ve find myself back in the same place where I started. A lot of extra time on my hands in a location where there is little to do with it. Somewhat dissatisfied with the status quo, hungry for some sort of change, but nowhere to direct that energy. It’s the exact same situation I was in when #BlaugustReborn was on the menu.

Why do you go away? So that you can come back. So that you can see the place you came from with new eyes and extra colors. And the people there see you differently, too. Coming back to where you started is not the same as never leaving.

Terry Pratchett – A Hat Full of Sky

Of course, that was rather unbelievably three years ago. That’s really not all that long, all things considered, but who and where I was seems like a lifetime ago now. I’m much happier with the job I have now. I have lots of new experiences and knowledge. I am, according to my wife, “a lot more like the man she fell in love with.” A very endearing comment, if one chooses to focus on the positives.

One of the many things that’s prevented me from blogging is a general lack of material that I was willing to share. I didn’t really have time to play games or even mess with my 3D printers. I still don’t, to a large degree, but things are looking up.

So it is that I’m sitting here eyeing Blaugust 2021 and missing those things that blogging original brought. A medium for expressing myself, processing complicated thoughts, and honing a surprisingly underrated skill, writing. The time to begin again seems… now.

I didn’t expect myself to succeed three years ago, and I’m somewhat skeptical now, but there’s only one way to find out yes? Honestly the hardest step right now is remembering to come back and do this again tomorrow. I think for now I should go get my trusty notebook out and begin writing some ideas down. There’s at least a few rattling around in there and if they aren’t recorded now I will forget them.

Y’all take care. With any luck you’ll hear from me again soon.

One thought on “The Title of My First Post: Everything must have a Beginning

Leave a comment